What would you do if you would win the lottery?

So everyone seems to be set on winning the lottery! Once the big prize is won, all the problems will magically disappear. No money problems equals to no need to work. Then all the energy can be put into things, which we like. If we like travelling, we can go travelling around the world, if we like motorcycling then we do that.

I like the question very much and mainly what it brings out of people. Leaving apart the obvious responses like buying an apartment and a car, it is really interesting to hear what comes after that. Ok, so we purchase materialistic things first, which symbolize stability but the words following these show our true colours; what we really want, what we desire!

One day a colleague of mine asked me that question and I took a moment and responded to her question. It was around that time that it became clear to me that I had suppressed for many years my desire to write. My wish to write had started as a kid while I was reading Karl May books regarding Native Indians (typical girl books as you can see). (Link for non-Germans, http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Karl_May) and I had heard that he had written these books and the very very very detailed (I can’t emphasize this point enough) descriptions of the surroundings, although he had never seen these places. Sometimes, the first 20 pages were just the description of the surroundings of the desert or wherever the story was taking place. Interestingly, he did not invest that much time into his person’s exterior description. So, following the questions response, here I am!

After that day, I started to ask the question to people, whom I knew but also to random people, whom I met by coincidence. You know the moment when you are waiting in line and start talking or being talked to. It seems to many people like a very harmless question almost something, which goes into the small talk category but it is not the case. The responses, which came back, were so interesting. It seemed that for a couple of minutes it was almost if the person, who is opposite of me was lowering her/his hand of cards, which were before firmly held in front of the person. Unintentionally there was a bare soul in front of me. It is the moment the person says what she/he wants from life.

I asked a friend, who has approx. 12 horses “What would you do if you would win the lottery?” It was mainly many equipments, which would benefit her horses. One of them was a Horse Jacuzzi. To this day I am still not sure if it was a joke or if it was the truth. Either way it shows what is close to someone’s heart.

A recent lotto winner was on a radio show and was asked, what he had done with the money. It was mainly quitting his job, travelling with friends and family AND seeing the World Cup in Brazil…Then he said the words “I know that many say that money cannot buy you happiness, but it provides you with the opportunity to gain experiences with other people and that is the most important thing”.

So my question to you is: What would you do if you would win today the lottery?

IMG_0653-2.JPG

Leave a Reply

