My passionate relationship with my beloved navigator

The other day we had a screaming contest (one sided!) regarding which way the correct one is. After many weeks of always advising on the right way, suddenly my better half in the car decided to change the course of our relationship (route). The usual way was not good enough for Madame. To spice things up and not end up the usual routine route it decided to take a different one. However, it had done it on a Monday morning and used my weakness (sleepiness) in order to get its way. Sneaky!

So, there I was in the middle of nowhere and caught myself asking my navigator in a strained but still gentle voice “Did I do something, which upset you? Are you all right?” Of course, no listening intention was displayed. Just the continued “Turn right after 200 meters” however there was no right. This time I definitely sensed that something was wrong. “We can talk about it, you know. I am sure there was a misunderstanding”. Then there was a cross way. To the left or right? Within seconds it changed its opinion from to the left to the right. Ok, it has its own mind but you can imagine how upset I was. So I dared to say some not nice words, which I regretted instantly. Although, she pretended not to listen, now it did! How I recognised it? It switched off and fell down in the middle of my drive. Me, with a slight panic, whilst driving, and nowhere to stop asked: “What is this all about? Always this diva behaviour. I know that you got a nice voice but this is too much”. Finally, I could stop and put it in its right place. Again, I had to do it from the start and go back to history. “Now you are pretending that you do not remember what happened?”

Next day, everything was all right for the first hour of the trip. 10 more minutes remaining and my beloved navigator decided not to be the dominant one in our relationship. I could almost hear her voice saying “I have brought you until here but I am not into mindless subordinates. Find your own way and do some decisions yourself.” So, it started with contradicting directions from there onwards, in order to motivate me to make my own decisions. Maybe it was trying to use reversed psychology with me. When it says right, it wants me to go left or re-reversed one, where actually the right way is the right one? Finally, I ended up saying “Really, after almost 90% of the way, you decide on being not the decision maker anymore in our relationship? Really? You do know that I have an important appointment”. Nope that day it was not a good day. I slept very uneasy at night and hoped that she would not rest easy as well.

For the next couple of weeks everything was great. I had forgotten about all our previous difficulties. We were one team, so strong like never before. We conquered the roads, which were new, old, dark, lovely, ugly…We went from landscape to landscape, city to city. What a joy it was! Even when I had hard times and did not listen to her, she always brought me back to the right road and we found back safely to our home.

Then I did a mistake..I took her for granted. No more appreciative words from my side. I put sometimes even the music louder than her since I knew the route. There were on some standard routes no more need for her. I just needed her for confirmation. She did not take it well, I can tell you that. She started misbehaving and switched off more frequently and brought me to different routes. I confessed “I thought only for a couple of seconds of buying a bigger and newer model, I swear.” She did not believe me. Well who would? That Tomtom I saw the other day…. So pretty with a clear nice voice and big letters…

One day, after resisting for quite a long while, I could not control anymore my temptation and bought it! It was a fresh start; everything was new and fresh. We made many new experiences together. I was so happy with her. It was so easy to see the maps and I had so much fun like I hadn’t had for a long time. I had thrown the old one on the floor of the car with its monitor looking downwards and did spare it even a second glance. However, after the honeymoon phase, my new navigation showed its real face! It was difficult to handle, didn’t take orders very well, and brought me to very difficult and dangerous ways. I think in our “hearts” we knew that we were not made for each other. Too modern for me perhaps and I just too used to my own ways and my “old” navigation.

We broke up quite quickly and I brought her back. Now, how should I face up to my beloved navigation? I had done a mistake and it lasted quite short with the other one. Almost did not count… I recognised immediately what I had done, or almost immediately.

I picked it up from the floor and attached it in front of me and looked deep into her monitor and said “Thanks God, that you are a heartless piece of machine. If you would have been a human being it would have been over between us. Trust is lost so easily and what I had done was not worth it. Hindsight we are always smarter but we do not have the luxury of losing our beloved once with this kind of stupidly made mistakes and taking each other granted. However, in this situation I will just erase your memory and we will start on a new page.”

And we continued our journey happily ever after.

IMG_0114-0

Leave a Reply

